newLISP-GS IDE has 'ERR: no working directory found' (VISTA)

Machine-specific discussion
Unix, Linux, OS X, OS/2, Windows, ..?
biffsnot

newLISP-GS IDE has 'ERR: no working directory found' (VISTA)

Post by biffsnot »

Hello all.

This may be something stupid - who knows. When I open newLISP IDE I see 'ERR: no working directory found' at the bottom, and no program will show any output - though I do believe they run. I know you pass the working directory to newLISP itself - but I cant seem to figure this IDE thing out.

EDIT: Programs WILL run through the command line with no issue - only the IDE itself seems problematic.

Thanks in advance.

Vista 64bit with recently updated Java.

biffsnot

Small error found in newlisp-edit.lsp affects windows users

Post by biffsnot »

I am new to LISP in general, but I think I found a very simple thing that was botching IDE up, not running newlisp at the bottom of the window like it should. Kept telling me no working directory found. So I tried installing it on my iMac - and it worked without a hitch. So I opened newlisp-edit.lsp and saw:

Code: Select all

(define (start-newlisp-shell)
	(if (= ostype "Win32")
		(gs:run-shell 'OutputArea 
			(string newlispDir "/newlisp.exe " currentExtension " -C -w \"" $HOME "\""))
		(gs:run-shell 'OutputArea 
			(string "/usr/bin/newlisp " currentExtension " -C -w " $HOME))
	)
)
When I changed the outputarea slashes by $HOME to

(string newlispDir "/newlisp.exe " currentExtension " -C -w /"" $HOME "/""))
the problem went away. I can now run programs in the IDE and the working directory stuff went away.

I am not sure if this is a Vista issue, or a windows issue in general, but it may affect others besides me.

Anyway I am looking forward to learning newLISP as it seems the best option for modern application programming (meaning windowing, graphics, and such since most of the free LISP compilers out there really do console only apps) with a LISP dialect under the thousand dollar range :)