TK and "scale"(slider) interaction with newlisp

Q&A's, tips, howto's
Rovingeye

TK and "scale"(slider) interaction with newlisp

Post by Rovingeye »

Just like to say I am new to lisp, but seem to have settled with newlisp as a very clean, concise language that is allowing me to get all kinds of work done.

I have one problem, I am new to both lisp, newlisp, and TK, so there is a chance its a silly mistake on my part. On win32 I create a scale control, but when I link it with a -command to newlisp I get:

wrong # args: should be "Newlisp command"
wrong # args: should be "Newlisp command"
while executing
"Newlisp {(set-value)} 0"
(command executed by scale)

I assume (and by playing with the slider) I have found the 0 is the current value of the slide.

Thanks
Darren

P.S.
My only other problem is the xml-parser is way to slow :) I cheat, and convert my xml into s-expression for debugging code. But I would be laughed at if anyone here saw how slow the reader was.
(print "hello, World!")

Lutz

Post by Lutz »

Thanks for the compliment about newLISP.

I never tried the Tk slider and don't fully understand the problem, but perhaps it helps reading the section "Writing applications with newLISP and Tcl/Tk" how to pass variable values back and forth between Tcl/Tk and newLISP in the newLISP-tk manual.

About XML: I always thought the xml-parse in newLISP was fast, at least in benchmarks with Java it came out much faster, but if there are improvements possible, we will do it!. Perhaps you can post you XML and explain how you want to use it in newLISP. Are you using 'xml-type-tags' the appropiate way?

The program in newlisp-blog-32.tgz uses XML to store and receive blog content. The best way is to parse XML is with "(xml-type-tags nil nil nil nil)" into SXML expressions and then use 'assoc'' or 'lookup' to extract attributes/variables.

Very welcome to our group ...

Lutz

Rovingeye

Post by Rovingeye »