newLISP and the gtk-server

Guiserver, GTK-server, OpenGL, PostScript,
HTML 5, MIDI, IDE
pjot

newLISP and the gtk-server

Post by pjot »

Hi Lutz, hi all newLISP users!

Compliments of the day. I am new to this programming language newLISP, but after some attempts to create a couple of programs, I must say: this rules! Why did I not earlier bump into newLISP?

I really like the broad spectrum of extra functions. TK is fine, though, I prefer to use GTK myself. Therefore I have written a small newLISP program to demonstrate that the newLISP language even works with my gtk-server (http://www.turtle.dds.nl/gtk-server/). Maybe it is of use for somebody else.

Thank you for this intriguing language (and your C code compiles with -pedantic, amazing),

Regards

Peter.

nigelbrown

Post by nigelbrown »

Hello Peter,
I tried out gtk-server with newLISP on a winXP-pro laptop.
Rather than doing (process "gtk-server localhost:50000 log")
which with the windows newlisp-tk doesn't keep gtk-server alive I have a batch file
that starts the server in the windows directory where the exe and cfg are
startgtk.bat:
c:
cd c:\windows
gtk-server localhost:50000 log

then run the lisp without the (process "gtk-server localhost:50000 log")
and sleep lines. The window comes up fine and the exit button signals via the callback.

However, there is no killall in winxp so I have to ^C the batch file in its
command prompt window to close the gtk window.
Looking through the gtk-server site tutorial I can't see how you can close a window without killing the server - although I admit I've not played around with catching the delete message.

Have you some pointers on using newlisp and gtk-server together on windows?
Regards
Nigel

pjot

Post by pjot »

Hi Nigel,

Well, I am surprised that it works with the Windows version as well, but OK, it's nice to know.