[guiserver-0.3] remarks

Guiserver, GTK-server, OpenGL, PostScript,
HTML 5, MIDI, IDE
Locked
newdep
Posts: 2038
Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2004 7:40 pm
Location: Netherlands

[guiserver-0.3] remarks

Post by newdep »

Hi Lutz,

Some small remarks/questions.

(gs:set-frame..) does not allow "" as text.. is it possible to only have
a frame without text in the top?

/local/ icons cannot be called from within the "file:/local/folder-opened32.png"
using inside a html page..Its kind of logical but would be nice if thats possible.

(gs:add-to with "east" 'north" "south" did not work in v 0.2 but i cant get
it working under v0.3 either... (btw..In v0.3 there is no error annymore when using it...thats oke)


How do i remove a button or label or other widget from a frame or pane?


Is there also a coordinated-xy grid inside java? Im realy having a struggle with
the Pane layouts.. (never liked it in TK or GTK eighter) I like it more pixel based (gs:set-pos x y widget) on a frame. (oke resize actions is upto the user then.)


Does the HTML text-pane need a mozille library installed on the machine?
or for RTF, what does it need then? Or is this text-widget a 100% independent java based handler?

is it possible to change the frame size? the frame-title can be changed with
set-text but the set-size does not work on the main frame...

Is it possible to have a gs:get-size to return widget & frame size?


I think thats enough for now ;-)


Regards, Norman
-- (define? (Cornflakes))

newdep
Posts: 2038
Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2004 7:40 pm
Location: Netherlands

Post by newdep »

Add on:


the gs:panel size does not work?
according to the documentation the pael-flow or grid-layout could be
used to set the panel size..


The one below stays at fullsize frame-size 600 300
(unquote grid-layout or flow-layout result is the same..checked by color..)
What do i do wrong?


(gs:init)
(gs:set-trace true)
(gs:frame 'DT 200 200 600 300 "?")
(gs:set-grid-layout 'DT 1 1 1 1)

(gs:panel 'LEFT 50 50)
;(gs:set-flow-layout 'LEFT "left" 1 1)
(gs:set-background 'LEFT 1 1 0.5 )

(gs:add-to 'DT 'LEFT)
(gs:set-visible 'DT true)

(gs:listen)
-- (define? (Cornflakes))

Lutz
Posts: 5289
Joined: Thu Sep 26, 2002 4:45 pm
Location: Pasadena, California
Contact:

Post by Lutz »

gs:set-frame..) does not allow "" as text.. is it possible to only have a frame without text in the top?
Don't use "" use spaces between quotes " "
/local/ icons cannot be called from within the "file:/local/folder-opened32.png"
using inside a html page..Its kind of logical but would be nice if thats possible.
All HTML stuff including links are managed by Java.
gs:add-to with "east" 'north" "south" did not work in v 0.2 but i cant get it working under v0.3 either...
It does work. Here is an example for border layout, which uses it.

http://newlisp.org/downloads/developmen ... t-demo.png
http://newlisp.org/downloads/developmen ... layout.lsp

Note in the screen shot, how sizes are honored only in one direction, and in the other direction the panel expands. The center panel is expanded for the rest of the space regardless of size set. This border-demo.lsp will be included next time.
How do i remove a button or label or other widget from a frame or pane?
not implemented yet (soon)
Is there also a coordinated-xy grid inside java? Im realy having a struggle with the Pane layouts.. (never liked it in TK or GTK eighter) I like it more pixel based (gs:set-pos x y widget) on a frame. (oke resize actions is upto the user then.)
All modern GUI libs use layout managers, there is no pixel-controlled layout in Java except for gs:canvas, but only for drawing. There are two more layout managers, which will be implemented later: card-layout and box-layout. grid-bag-layut will probably not be implemented (very complex to use).

The current layout managers when nesting them correctly should allow you to do pretty much everything. Card layout can stack several panes on each other, and flip them via programatik control. Box layout is very simole and powerfull when nesting.

Pixel layout is not screen resolution independet and has been abandoned by most GUIs for that reason (except Windows).
Does the HTML text-pane need a mozille library installed on the machine?
Doesn't need anything, only the Java runtime. Only version 3.2 HTML is supported, but good enough for internally self-generated docs like help, gs:text-pane with "text/html" can also be edited.
is it possible to change the frame size? the frame-title can be changed with
set-text but the set-size does not work on the main frame...
Working in next version 0.5
Is it possible to have a gs:get-size to return widget & frame size?
There is a gs:properties on my list but (not soon)
the gs:panel size does not work?
It does work, but not if the panel is inside a grid-layout, where it gets maximized. In border-layout it only sizes in one direction (see border demo). Panel size is working in button-demo.lsp and will generally work in flow-layout.

Here is you basic misunderstanding: The flow-layout must be set in the container DT not in the panel LEFT added. Layouts are attributes of the container, not the children contained. But you can nest containers, thats where the power lies. Look at console.lsp, how split-panes are nested in three levels.

This code works, and puts a yellow rectangle (the panel) in the top left corner:

Code: Select all

(gs:frame 'DT 200 200 600 300 "?")
(gs:panel 'LEFT 50 50)
(gs:set-flow-layout 'DT"left" 1 1) ; <= the container has the layout
(gs:set-background 'LEFT 1 1 0.5 )
(gs:add-to 'DT 'LEFT)
(gs:set-visible 'DT true)
I think thats enough for now ;-)
yes ;-)

but keep on asking, eventually somebody has to write a little users manual (who could that be :-? )

Lutz

newdep
Posts: 2038
Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2004 7:40 pm
Location: Netherlands

Post by newdep »

Hi Lutzm

thank you for the reply and explenation! its clear ;-)


I started the WIKI on Guiserver - FAQ
to be found here..

!....Everyone is welcome to edit and continue it...!

http://www.alh.net/newlisp/wiki/index.c ... erver_FAQ_



Norman
-- (define? (Cornflakes))

rickyboy
Posts: 607
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2005 7:13 pm
Location: Front Royal, Virginia

Post by rickyboy »

newdep wrote:I started the WIKI on Guiserver - FAQ
to be found here..

http://www.alh.net/newlisp/wiki/index.c ... erver_FAQ_
From said FAQ:
Q: Does Guiserver run on MacOS?
A: This question is not valid ;-)
Huh?
(λx. x x) (λx. x x)

cormullion
Posts: 2038
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2005 8:28 pm
Location: latiitude 50N longitude 3W
Contact:

Post by cormullion »

Lutz's teaser pic back on May 31 - similar to http://newlisp.org/download/development ... MacOSX.png showed us his MacOS desktop, complete with coffee cup icons (indicating Java processes). I haven't yet got round to trying out the 'guiserver' (I'm not a fan of the name, hence the quotes) but i'm really looking forward to having a go. If Lutz can run it on his Mac I'm sure I can run it on mine!

rickyboy
Posts: 607
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2005 7:13 pm
Location: Front Royal, Virginia

Post by rickyboy »

cormullion wrote:I haven't yet got round to trying out the 'guiserver' (I'm not a fan of the name, hence the quotes) ...
Yeah me too -- don't like the name. I vote we change it to gooey-server. :-)
(λx. x x) (λx. x x)

cormullion
Posts: 2038
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2005 8:28 pm
Location: latiitude 50N longitude 3W
Contact:

Post by cormullion »

not a great improvement :-) But at least it's no longer a TLA...

Locked