Guiserver, GTK-server, OpenGL, PostScript,
HTML 5, MIDI, IDE
hotcore
Posts: 29 Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2011 1:03 pm
Post
by hotcore » Fri Aug 10, 2012 12:00 pm
Hi,
having written my first little newlisp app after lurking now and then on this forum, I have a small problem.
In the code below, when I do NOT enter anything in the input field and push the f->c button, the buttonhandler seems not to work.
The println is not executed! What am I doing wrong?
Thx, Arie
Code: Select all
(load (append (env "NEWLISPDIR") "/guiserver.lsp"))
(define (f2c x)
(set 'y (float x nil))
(println "y=" y ";")
(cond
(y (string (div (sub y 32.0) 1.8)))
(true "enter a number")
)
)
(define (c2f x)
(set 'y (float x nil))
(cond
(y (string (add (mul y 1.8) 32.0)))
(true "enter a number")
)
)
(gs:init)
(gs:frame 'Convert 300 300 270 120 "Convert Fahrenheit & Celsius")
(gs:set-resizable 'Convert nil)
(gs:set-border-layout 'Convert)
(gs:panel 'Input)
(gs:set-flow-layout 'Input "left")
(gs:label 'Inlab "Input value:" "left" 44)
(gs:text-field 'Inval 'text-handler 20)
(gs:add-to 'Input 'Inlab 'Inval)
(gs:panel 'Output)
(gs:set-flow-layout 'Output "left")
(gs:label 'Outlab "Output value:" "left" 35)
(gs:label 'Outval "")
(gs:add-to 'Output 'Outlab 'Outval)
(gs:panel 'Button)
(gs:set-grid-layout 'Button 1 2)
(gs:button 'f2c 'button-handler "Convert F -> C")
(gs:button 'c2f 'button-handler "Convert C -> F")
(gs:add-to 'Button 'f2c 'c2f)
(gs:add-to 'Convert 'Input "north" 'Output "center" 'Button "south")
(gs:set-visible 'Convert true)
(define (text-handler id value) nil)
(define (button-handler id value)
(cond
((= id "MAIN:f2c")
(gs:set-text 'Outval (f2c (gs:get-text 'Inval))))
((= id "MAIN:c2f")
(gs:set-text 'Outval (c2f (gs:get-text 'Inval))))
(true
(gs:set-text 'Outval "invalid id detected"))
)
)
(gs:listen)
hotcore
Posts: 29 Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2011 1:03 pm
Post
by hotcore » Fri Aug 10, 2012 5:10 pm
It seems that, when you don't do a set-text for a text-field (or fill it in in the form manually) that get-text for that text-field gets stuck somehow.
The same behavior occurs when you empty the text-field at some stage (delete all chars in it).
Any ideas?
Thx,
Arie
Lutz
Posts: 5289 Joined: Thu Sep 26, 2002 4:45 pm
Location: Pasadena, California
Contact:
Post
by Lutz » Fri Aug 10, 2012 7:48 pm
Initialize the text field to some inital non-empty string, e.g. a space:
Code: Select all
(gs:text-field 'Inval 'text-handler 20)
(gs:set-text 'Inval " ")
I also would increase the height of the Convert frame from 270 to 400 when on Mac OSX for the textfield not to be squished.
hotcore
Posts: 29 Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2011 1:03 pm
Post
by hotcore » Sat Aug 11, 2012 9:51 am
Thanks Lutz!
I already tried that. But when the user empties the field, the same problem will still occur ...
Is there a way (apart from get-text) to see if a field is in such an uninitialized state?
BTW many thanks for this wonderful language!
Lutz
Posts: 5289 Joined: Thu Sep 26, 2002 4:45 pm
Location: Pasadena, California
Contact:
Post
by Lutz » Sat Aug 11, 2012 4:19 pm
The relevant function in the text-field widget in guiserver.jar was not handling empty text correctly when text was requested via gs:get-text.
This is now fixed in version 1.47 of Guiserver available here:
http://www.newlisp.org/downloads/develo ... server.jar
Ps: there will also be a newLISP maintenance release 10.4.4 in September, where the fixed guiserver.jar will be included.
hotcore
Posts: 29 Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2011 1:03 pm
Post
by hotcore » Sat Aug 11, 2012 6:15 pm
Wow, Lutz you are a genius ;-)
Thanks a lot for the quick fix!
/Arie
Tatiana_Sn
Posts: 3 Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2019 9:03 am
Location: Russian
Contact:
Post
by Tatiana_Sn » Sun Jun 26, 2022 9:04 am
Is there any word on when an update for desktop is going to be available that allows it to work with WMP 11?
For the time being I have rolled my WMP back to version 10 so I can still use XaMp Desktop.
Life is Beautiful
Tatiana_Sn
Posts: 3 Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2019 9:03 am
Location: Russian
Contact:
Post
by Tatiana_Sn » Fri Jul 01, 2022 1:28 am
It seems that, when you don't do a set-text for a text-field (or fill it in in the form manually) that get-text for that text-field gets stuck somehow. The same behavior occurs when you empty the text-field at some stage (delete all chars in it). Any ideas? Thx, Arie
Your kind words warmed my heart))
Life is Beautiful